Mediterranean Sea

The International Hydrographic Office in Monaco divides the Mediterranean Sea into the western and eastern basins.

An excerpt from the article 19 facts about Mediterranean Sea

The western basin includes the Alboran, Balearic, Ligurian and Tyrrhenian Seas, while the eastern basin includes the Ionian, Adriatic, Aegean and Icarian Seas.

There are also other areas of the Mediterranean Sea that are not included in the division. These are areas also called seas, such as the Sicilian, Thracian, Myrtean, Cretan, Cypriot, Levantine, and Libyan seas.

More about Mediterranean Sea