North Korea

In 1910, Korea (which was then an empire) was conquered by the Japanese Empire. It remained under its rule until the end of World War II.

An excerpt from the article 24 facts about North Korea

After Japan's surrender, Korea was divided into 2 areas, separated at the 38th parallel north. The north was occupied by the Soviet Union and the south by the United States.