The name "China" most likely comes from the Qin dynasty ("Chin").

An excerpt from the article 30 facts about China

The first emperor was Qin Shi Huang, who lived from 259 to 210 BC. He united China in 221 BC and initiated a dynastic period that lasted continuously until 1912.

Qin Shi Huang lived from 259 to 210 BC. He is called the First Emperor, the ruler who ended the Warring States Period by conquering six Chinese states in succession.

The first emperor was born in the city of Handan, the capital of the then-state of Zhao. Currently, over 1.3 million people live in Handan.

He ascended the throne of Qin at the age of thirteen, in 247 BC. However, he received full power only in 238 BC. The new king, after suppressing the rebellions, started a great military campaign and in a very short time conquered all the other Chinese countries. The first to fall was Han (annexed in 230), followed by Zhao (228), Wei (225), Chu (223), Yan (222), and the last of the great kingdoms - Qi (221).