Tirana has been the Albanian capital since February 8, 1920.

An excerpt from the article 25 facts about Albania

Tirana is also the largest city in Albania, the largest industrial center, and the country's cultural center. The city lies on three rivers: Lana, Tirana and Tërkuzë. There are seven universities there, the most important of which is the University of Tirana, founded in 1957.

The main monument of the city is the Ethema Beja mosque from the 18th century.