The capital of Ireland is Dublin, located in the eastern part of the island.

An excerpt from the article 39 facts about Ireland

Dublin is the capital and largest city of Ireland, located in the province of Leinster. The city is situated on the Irish Sea, at the mouth of the River Liffey into Dublin Bay. The river divides the city into two parts: Northside and Southside - the more modern and more prosperous.

Dublin is the main administrative, cultural, economic, and industrial center of the country. The city has a seaport and an airport.

In 2010, the historic center of Dublin was included on the Irish UNESCO World Heritage List.

The English name of the city of Dublin comes from the Irish name Dubh Linn, meaning "black pond," while the modern Irish name of the city is Baile Atha Cliath, meaning "city of the ford with reed fences".