Ireland is a parliamentary republic with an elected president who serves as head of state.

An excerpt from the article 39 facts about Ireland

Ireland's legal system is based on case law and legislation passed by Parliament under the constitution adopted in 1937.

The president is elected in direct elections for a 7-year term. The Irish Parliament consists of two houses: Dail Eireann - the lower house and Seanad Eireann - the upper house.