The Alps are divided into three main mountain ranges in Austria: the Northern Limestone Alps, the Central Eastern Alps, and the Southern Limestone Alps.

An excerpt from the article 31 facts about Austria

The highest peak in Austria is Großglockner, 3798 m above sea level.

The Austrian Alps are the highest in the west of the country, and the further east you go, the lower they are.