Saint Petersburg

In 1712, St. Petersburg officially became the capital of Russia and remained so until 1918.

An excerpt from the article 37 facts about Saint Petersburg

The most important state institutions began to move to the new capital, and the Senate, which moved to St. Petersburg in 1721, proclaimed Tsar Peter the Great as Emperor of All-Russia.