Facts about Kiwi bird

26 facts about Kiwi bird

Flightless birds

Endemic to New Zealand, kiwis are the smallest known ratites in the world. Their distinctive build and atypical characteristics made them internationally famous. They are commonly referred to as “honorary mammals,” since even their gestation period resembles that of small mammals.
There are five species of kiwi from the genus Apteryx.
They include Brown kiwi, Great spotted kiwi, Little spotted kiwi, Rowi, and Tokoeka.
“Apteryx” derives from Ancient Greek, meaning “wingless.”
Kiwi birds are the smallest ratites in the world.
Their length ranges from 30 to 65 centimeters, and they weigh up to 3,5 kilograms.
Kiwi are sexually dimorphic.
Females are approximately 20% larger than males.
Their average lifespan ranges from 25 up to 50 years.
Kiwi are flightless birds.
They have vestigial wings that are hardly visible under the feathers.
They are the only birds with nostrils at the end of their beaks.
Even though their beaks reach up to 20 centimeters, they have the shortest beaks of all birds, because beaks are measured from nostrils to the end of their beak.
Their sense of sight is poor, however, their sense of smell is highly developed.
Kiwi bones are heavy, and filled with marrow.
It is quite an unusual trait for birds.
Their feathers evolved into a structure resembling hair.