Facts about Lake Tanganyika

19 facts about Lake Tanganyika

One of the oldest lakes in the world

Lake Tanganyika is one of the most unique and unusual lakes on earth. Because it is isolated from other water reservoirs and the water has been held in it for millions of years, it resulted in the development of unique life forms found nowhere else in the world. It has a very unique chemical composition of the water and a very interesting geological structure.
Lake Tanganyika lies within the Albertine Rift, the western branch of the East African Rift on the territory of four African countries: Zambia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Burundi and Tanzania.
Is one of the oldest lakes in the world.
The only older one is Lake Baikal, which at 25 million years old is about twice as old.
It has three main tributaries: Ruzizi River, Malagarasi River and Kalambo River.
Due to its enormous size and lack of many tributaries, the residence time of Tanganyka is about 5500 years.
The area of the lake is 32,900 km² (12,700 sq mi).
It is the second-oldest freshwater lake in the world, the second-largest by volume, and the second-deepest. It is the size of Maryland and two times smaller than Lake Huron.
The water's surface of Lake Tanganyka is 773 m (2 536 ft) above sea level.
The length of the coastline is 1,828 km (1,136 mi), which is almost the distance from New York to Miami.
Lake Tanganyika belongs to the Congo Basin and is connected to it by Lukuga River.
Lukuga River is about 350 km long and is at times the only outlet of Tanganyika in East Africa.
Tanganyika is the world's longest freshwater lake, it is 673 km (418 mi) long.
It consists of three basins that are connected to each other.
These are the northern, central and southern basins.
The tectonic origin determines the environment of the lake.
Tanganyika is surrounded by mountains, some of which reach the shoreline of the lake.
It is the deepest African lake, its average depth is 570 m and the maximum depth is 1,435 m.