Facts about Montana

35 facts about Montana

Oro y plata.

"Gold and silver" is the motto of one of the largest states. But in the case of Montana, it is far more than that. Besides rich mineral deposits, it is known for its diverse nature, picturesque mountains, hot springs, vast unsettled areas, and dinosaur fossils.
It is the fourth largest state by surface area.
The state's total surface area (including land and water) is 380,800 km2 (147,040 sq mi).
Despite its vast area, Montana ranks 44th among all states in terms of population.
It is inhabited by 1.06 million people. The most populous city - Billings - has about 110 thousand inhabitants, which is more than 10% of the state's total population. Montana exceeded 1 million residents in 2012.
Montana is one of the eight Mountain States.
It is located in the northwestern region of the United States. Montana's mean elevation is 1,040 m (3,400 ft).
Helena is a state capital, but the most populated city is Billings.
Helena was established as a gold camp during the Montana Gold Rush on October 30, 1864. 

Because of the gold rush, Helena became a prosperous city where many millionaires lived. Thanks to the wealthy citizens, the town developed with aesthetic Victorian architecture housing.

At present, almost 33 thousand people live in the city, making it the sixth least populated state capital.
Its name is derived from the Spanish word "montaña," which means mountainous.
The official name was instituted in 1863 by a bill issued by United States House Committee on Territories.
It is the 41st state.
Montana was incorporated into the Union on November 8, 1889.
It is divided into 56 counties.
Most of them - 46 to be exact - are qualified as "frontier" counties. This means that they are sparsely populated areas, geographically isolated from population centers and services.
What are the largest cities in Montana?
In order of population, they would be as follows: 

  • Billings - 110,000
  • Missoula - 75,000
  • Great Falls - 58,000
  • Bozeman - 50,000
  • Butte - 34,000
  • Helena - 33,000
  • Kalispell - 25,000
What are Montana state symbols?
Here is a list:

  • State flower: Bitterroot
  • State grass: Bluebunch wheatgrass
  • State tree: Ponderosa Pine
  • State butterfly: Mourning Cloak Butterfly
  • State fish: Blackspotted Cutthroat Trout
  • State reptile: Northern Alligator Lizard
  • State bird: Western Meadowlark
  • State mammal: Grizzly bear
  • State fossil: Duck-billed dinosaur
It is known as "The Treasure State."
It all started with a gold rush, but Montana is also the only producer of platinum and palladium and a significant copper, silver, and gemstones manufacturer.