Facts about Croatia

51 facts about Croatia

Land of a thousand islands

Croatia is a small country on the Adriatic Sea, on the border between Central and Southern Europe. Once part of Yugoslavia, it has been an independent country since 1991. It is a country with a rich history, the traces of which can be found at every turn, especially in the historical cities, which are full of objects inscribed on the UNESCO list and attract numerous tourists.

Croatia's biggest attraction, however, is its Adriatic coast, whose waters are clean, highly saline and warm, and whose beaches, although mostly pebbly, rocky and stony, are often and happily visited by tourists from all over Europe.

In ancient times, the area of what is now Croatia area was inhabited by Illyrian tribes.
They were an ancient Indo-European people who inhabited the Western Balkans during the Halstatt period (late Bronze Age and early Iron Age).
Since the first century BC, these territories belonged to the Roman Empire.
The Romans divided Croatia into two provinces: Dalmatia and Pannonia, and in the early 7th century, Croats (a South Slavic people) settled in these territories. With the Romans' conquest, Christianity began to spread in this part of Europe.
In the 10th century, the two provinces united and formed the Kingdom of Croatia.
The first king of Croatia was Tomislav.
In 1102, Croatia was annexed by Hungary.
Later Croatia was ruled by the Habsburgs, and some lands fell to the Ottoman Turks.
In the 19th century, Croatia came under the Austrian Empire and later under the Hungarian sphere of influence.
Dalmatia remained in the Austrian part and enjoyed autonomy with its own parliament.
After World War I, Croatia became part of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes, and in 1929 part of Yugoslavia.
During World War II, the fascist Ustasha faction seized power in the country, declared independence, and established Croatia. Croatia was then allied with Germany.
After World War II, Croatia was incorporated into Josip Broz Tito's Yugoslavia.
Broz-Tito was of Croatian descent.
Croatia proclaimed its independence in 1991.
Then the war began with Yugoslavia, more specifically with Serbia, which was supported by Montenegrin troops. UN Peacekeepers moved into Croatia and three years later the conflict was ended by the Dayton Agreement.
In 2009 Croatia joined NATO and, in July 2013, became a member of the European Union.
Croatia joined the EU as the 28th member of the community.
Croatia is a multi-party parliamentary republic.
It was an authoritarian country until 2000 but is now a parliamentary democracy based on separation of powers. The state is headed by a president, elected by popular vote for five years.